Skip to content

The challenge we Bible teachers face

December 30, 2013

roadLet’s get started.

Yes, I know it isn’t January 1st just yet, but I thought that as I brush off the last vestiges of 2013 – and hasn’t it been a memorable year? – I’d like to give a preview of what the coming year undoubtedly brings.

A challenge.  Well, a number of challenges.

The first assumption is obvious, that we teachers all face the seemingly Sisyphean task of trying to engage students into a love of learning, awakening them out of their adolescent cerebral doldrum.  That is the educational battle that has been existent since time immemorial.  Nobody has an argument there.

There are other challenges unique to my niche in education, though.  Whereas the student steps into a class of the state-required courses such as Algebra, English and History, the Bible side of education is often seen as an elective – an unnecessary but obligatory part of Christian education.  Yeah, yeah, it’s part of the Christian school environment – I’ll play along, get a passing grade and move on, blah, blah. 

The conflict arises in presenting the Scriptures are true and relevant to life here and now.  Every minute of my classtime is dedicated to the task of making my students stop and realize how God works and moves and shapes destiny in a wonderful way – not only in the overall universal scheme but in individual lives, including the precious soul that sits right there in that desk.

The fight is in opening the eyes of the teen towards the soul-touching truths that cannot be found in the empty calories of social media, however tasty they may seem day to day.  The soul cannot live on secular junk food – we need to take a look at eternity.  “Popularism” is the new word in town, and it’s a fearful step into a self-indulgent Matrix-world that will suck the breath out of any transcendent thinking.

Yes, that is a truly daunting task.

But most of all, the greatest challenge I face is with myself.  I’m my own worst enemy, I know.  My fallen nature leads down many paths of failure and frustration that – should I start to list them – are so numerous and so humbling as to throw me into a spiritual tailspin.  I know me, and I know my best efforts are no better than trying to drag race with two flat tires on one side of the vehicle.

I come to Jesus for the strength only He can give and remembering   Οὐ μή σε ἀνῶ οὐδ᾽ οὐ μή σε ἐγκαταλίπω – “I will never leave you nor forsake you” – I can gain courage and direction to be the able teacher I ought to be for His glory.

**

Here is an excellent link to give insight on the new “popularism.”

The Rise of Popularism – NY Times

**

The verse reference is found in Hebrews 13:5

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Zockollthoughts

A year's blog as a Bible teacher

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Special Education For Teens But Special Rules for Parents

Tips and tools to support teenagers who learn differently while they transition to college.

