Skip to content

What Kind of a Legacy Can a Bible Teacher Leave?

January 6, 2014

It’s about 20 degrees F here in Knoxville this morning, with a dusting in our backyard of, oh, about a half an inch. I am taking the morning and getting the final foodstuffs and tools for the Theology Camp in Kingston tomorrow. The students are as excited as I am, and I pray that the Tennessee roadways are clear enough tomorrow for me to make the backwoods trek in the school bus to Grace Point Camp. For those of you Northerners who laugh at the prospect of such a small amount of snow being a challenge, you have seen neither the backroads of the Volunteer State nor its drivers.

One of the goals of the Theology Camp is not only to instruct and inspire but to make a legacy. In fact, that’s really what my classroom goal is each and every year.

The 222 Principle.

That comes from 2 Timothy 2:2: “And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses, entrust to reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others.” To put it simply, I am to take the Biblical teachings and to teach them to my students so that they may, in turn, teach others who will then teach others, who will then teach others… for generations until The Lord returns.

It’s a Biblically-mandated cycle.

It’s a Blessed Legacy.

Now, please understand: I’m simple-minded, but I’m smart enough to realize that there are students who won’t carry Bible teachings any farther than the classroom threshold. Every teacher realizes that a certain segment of their student society cares only about the letter grade and not the knowledge/wisdom that is bring placed before them. That’s the risk we take when we open our hearts and invest our energy into each day’s work, feeling the pang whenever we encounter a stiff-backed opposition or – even worse to me – casual indifference to God’s amazing teaching.

But, oh, the risk is worth it whenever you see the Legacy being carried on. How can a Bible teacher fully describe the feeling of seeing one of his pupils take the next step in Biblical maturity? It’s not that Samantha must be a missionary to China or that Matt must be a full-time pastor. Just as satisfying are the times when I encounter a student at the mall who is a full-time accountant but is also a lay leader for a church youth group, or a devoted mother who is faithfully raising her kids in spiritual truths about the magnificence of Jesus. They’re carrying the 222 Principle and keeping the Legacy alive. I am committed to instill the 222 Principle in every class that I teach.

Mason wrote me on Facebook:

During your psychology class you taught us a little bit of apologetics. I learned a lot in your class and learned a little on my own. In the summer of 2012 I was playing an online game and got into a debate with 3 different religions at the same time. It was then that God gave me a strong desire to fully pursue apologetics. I’ve learned so much about how to defend my own faith and why I believe what I believe.

That’s the joy of teaching Biblical truths. The 222 Principle.

Carry the Blessed Legacy on, Mason.

God bless you.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Great to see you taking on this blog challenge. I always respected you as one of the best Bible teachers. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Zockollthoughts

A year's blog as a Bible teacher

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Special Education For Teens But Special Rules for Parents

Tips and tools to support teenagers who learn differently while they transition to college.

