Skip to content

The Perks of Working as a Bible Teacher

February 26, 2014

One of the perks of being a Bible teacher is receiving a pleasant surprise now and again. 

No, I’m not talking about a raise, nor a bonus.

I’m talking about those little extra boosts throughout the day that lift your spirit and give you an encouragement in your ministry.  Sort of like God giving you a pat of the back and reminding you that He’s with you, holding you up.

Yesterday was such a day.

Early in the morning as I was loading grades in the computer, I heard a soft knock on the door.  There stood a thin and shy boy of fifteen whose name I will not use.  He was loaded down with a box full of coffee creamers.  I mean, a box full.  Over a dozen of the 16 ounce largish bottles of coffee creamers of1a various flavors.  “What’s this all about, sir?” I asked as he headed toward my coffee maker.

“Oh,” he said quietly.  “I noticed that you give coffee away to the students and I wanted to help. This will go nicely with the coffee.”  He plopped down the small crate and turned to me with a serious face.  “Please keep this anonymous,” he asked.  “I don’t want anyone to know.  I just wanted to help out.”  Then he was gone.

Later on, between first and second period, Lynette stopped by and handed me a Wal-Mart bag.  “This is for you,” she said, flashing a toothy grin.  I opened it up.  There was a box of my earthly version of manna:  Cheez-Its.  “Lynette,” I said, looking up, “this is wonderf-”    She was gone.

Blessed twice already!  But that wasn’t all.

During the very next class break, little Annette walked in and sat down next to my desk.  She has been suffering as the child of a brutal divorce, many times needing counseling, but today seemed different.  “I wanted to share something with you,” she said.

“Go right ahead, ma’am,” I replied, pushing my papers aside.

“My parents broke up, as you know,” she said, measuring her words carefully.  “And my father is a concrete agnostic.  At visitation times throughout the past year we have discussed God’s existence and His care in my life, but my dad would brush it off, giving me his best arguments about science and God being two totally different areas of thought and belief.  I would share with him some of the studies we’ve had in your Bible class and tell him I’m praying for him, but for some time he’d shrug it off and move on to something else – sometimes he’d even get upset.  This went on for quite a while, and I tell you that sometimes he’d look and act as if I were mentally unbalanced, and that hurt me, hurt me deeply.  Still, I’d share with him how God has worked in my life and given me peace, and I never would stop talking about God’s love to Dad, whether I was talking on the phone to him or texting him.”

She shifted in her seat, pulled back her dark hair and looked me in the eye.  “I saw him change in the last week.  Not because of an incident, though.  There was no life-and-death situation, no tragedy to scare him.  He simply… started changing.”

“Changing?” I asked.  “How?”

She gave a winning smile.  “He made a decision.  He sat with me over the weekend and told me ‘Annette, you’ve really reached me.  I can see God now.’  That’s what he said.  ‘Yes,’ he said, ‘I started to realize how real God is in you and all around us.’ And I can tell he’s changed, too.  He’s happier, more content…”

I grinned.

She continued excitedly.  “Why, we met up with some of his friends at a restaurant and you know what he said?  He said to them,  ‘This is Annette, my daughter.  She brought me to God.’  I know he has some more steps to take, but wasn’t that encouraging?  He said ‘She brought me to God.'”

I nodded my head.  “Ma’am, this is the highlight of my day.  Really, my week. Maybe even year.  I’m so happy, because I know you’ve been praying and working so hard.”

“Yes,” I thought you’d want to know.”  And she darted out the door to head to her next class.

Perks? Bonus? Incentive?  I just got ’em.

All in one day.

Thank you, Lord.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Zockollthoughts

A year's blog as a Bible teacher

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Special Education For Teens But Special Rules for Parents

Tips and tools to support teenagers who learn differently while they transition to college.

