Skip to content

My Love Letter to the Graduating Class of 2014

May 9, 2014

I am sitting in my classroom at 6:30 in the morning on this Friday and I 1dhave about a half an hour to write this before I get into my grading. 

It is quiet and the reality is settling in to me.

You are leaving.

You are really leaving.

This is hard on me.  It’s really hard on most teachers.

I am saddened… and yet I am overjoyed, because this is when I see the reality of Jesus taken up a notch in your life.  On one hand, I have a selfish side to all this;  all of the work I’ve invested in you over these past years is now going to be tested.

How can I make the proper analogy?  Well, the closest I can give you is that we teachers…

…are kind of like airplane mechanics.

You are the airplane.

We teacher/mechanics each take turns in adjusting and altering the ever-so-delicate engine parts of your lives.  We check the cables and sometimes install new and better gauges.  We don’t take this lightly; we know that so much depends on every turn of the screwdriver, every addition of a new part.

Sometimes you need more adjusting and might even reject a part, but that’s why we teachers are here; we patiently inspect and adjust as best we can.

Many who choose the profession of teaching make the mistake of wanting to be a celebrity or at least a memorable “cool” character, and those kind don’t last long.  You see, nobody really remembers the mechanic once the plane is in the air and heading towards its destination.  The mechanic, however, views the aircraft going into the horizon and is happy.

Well, that’s the way we teachers are.  We’re wiping our hands with an oily rag and shielding our eyes as we see you rolling down the runway in the direction of the sun.  We’ve finished our job now and we’re stepping back off the tarmac.  Your engine is finally ready and is fired up.  The wheels are rolling.

Sure, you’ve taken a few flights before:  elementary school and middle school got you in the air and taking larger and larger loops.  This is the first big flight, though.  What we’ve done in high school is improved your aircraft. You were accustomed to a Piper Cub, looping the fields; now you’re in a Gulfstream, ready to break the horizon for new and distant lands.

Your instrument panel is new.  It’s larger and at times can be intimidating.  However, your control tower is God’s guiding hand and instruction, and I don’t say that to be poetic.  Heaven knows that I’m speaking from experience when I say that I have kept the headphones on and called for help from the Controller all these years and He’s never let me down.

You keep in contact with the Tower and you’ll be okay.  You’ll have the Guidance you need.

Okay, I’ve said enough now and I need to go and dry my eyes.  It’s getting hard to see the keyboard.  Heaven only knows how I will miss you. I was honored to be a part of your life.  You blessed me by being a part of mine.

Oh, how deeply I will miss you.

But it’s time for you to go.

The sky is clear.  Go explore.

Bear in mind the inspiring words of the late John Magee:

And, while with silent, lifting mind I’ve trod
The high untrespassed sanctity of space,
– Put out my hand, and touched the face of God.

Go, my good friend.  Go soar and touch the face of God.

1bbb

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Kevin Scott permalink

    Thank you for everything you did for our class and myself. You really are one of my favorite teachers and I realize how blessed I was to have your class for 3 years. Thank you again and every time I come back, I’ll for sure visit your class

Leave a Reply

Zockollthoughts

A year's blog as a Bible teacher

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Special Education For Teens But Special Rules for Parents

Tips and tools to support teenagers who learn differently while they transition to college.

